Watercolor

The Sketch

I want to take a photo and change it to make it my own. As I sketch the figure, I try to make the sketch more exciting than the photo. I want this old cowboy to come to life. I want to feel him sitting up on that stagecoach. I want to feel the reins in his hands. I want the viewer to feel the miles of wear in those boots. I transferred the sketch to the watercolor paper by drawing with graphite tracing paper.

The watercolor paper

The watercolor paper is 300 lb. Arches Hot Press. I want this painting to look like I am having fun putting paint on paper. I want the brush strokes to be sure and strong. I want the viewer to feel the sun on the top of that old stage coach. I want to show detail but not so much that the eye gets bored. I’m on an adventure.

http://www.sherrymeidell.com

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in watercolor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watercolor

  1. This painting is wonderful. Is it finished? I would love to see the original photo. I like the quirky personality you gave it.

    • smeidell says:

      Thank you Linda. The painting is not finished. I’m taking pictures as a paint. I’ll post the photo on the last post with the finished painting although I might get caught up in Christmas before that happens.

Leave a Reply

