Do Two Rights Make it Wrong?

Do Two Rights Make it Wrong? Sketch by Sherry Meidell

My friend Becky who does great watercolors, said, “So the American Artist Magazine is having a Self-Portrait Cover Competition. You do people well. You should enter.” She handed me the page she had ripped out of her magazine.

So I pondered it a bit and thought I’ll give it a try. There are a lot of things to think about when I’m starting a watercolor. What colors should I use? Is it a nice design? Will it fit into the size of the cover? How do I hold the camera and push the button and take a picture of myself, all with one hand?

I finally got the “hold the camera and push the button with one hand thing” down but I kept missing my head. So hold my arm out and keep trying. Finally success and I started on my sketch. A self portrait would not be right without one of my characters staring back at me. They all clamored to be in the picture but this little guy won out. I had my head leaning against one of my hands but I thought “It needs a little more action.” So I put the paint brush in my other hand and started painting. That told a better story. I transferred the sketch onto the watercolor paper. I asked my husband what he thought. Something nagged at me from the very back left corner of my right brain. Finally I found it, two right hands. Now that would not do on the front cover of the American Artist magazine. So what do I do? You can see the finished painting and what I did. Just click on the following link and click on latest entries and scroll down and click on Sherry Meidell. www.americanartistcompetitions.com  There are a lot of nice self-portraits entered. Mine is the only one I saw with a critter.

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in self-portrait, watercolor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

