Getting ready for the SCBWI New York Conference

peep peep

I’ve been working on a few new portfolio pieces to get ready for the SCBWI New York Conference. We can display our portfolios for local editors and art directors. This chick is a part of a larger painting for my portfolio.

In the movie “Miss Potter” about Beatrix Potter who wrote and illustrated “Peter Rabbit”, she says, “We can’t stay home all of our lives. We must present ourselves to the world and think of it as an adventure.” She was talking to her paintings at the time. It’s time to get my portfolio ready to present to the world again but perhaps I will need to chat a bit longer with a few of the illustrations.

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Children's Book Illustration, The Picture Book, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting ready for the SCBWI New York Conference

  1. Manelle says:

    I really love that painting. It’s great. I hope you have a great time in NY. Someday I’ll be able to go again too. I’d like to try for LA though. I hope we get to hear all about it when you get back.

    • smeidell says:

      Thanks Manelle. I’ve attended the SCBWI LA Conference twice and the New York once. I like that you can display your portfolio for the art directors and editors in New York. I will let you know how it goes. Let me know when you go again.

Leave a Reply

