A Nice Day for an Adventure

Reading Tin Tin

An elementary school holds a lot of memories like the memory of running lickety split around a corner of the school at the same exact moment someone else came running around from the opposite direction. What is that scientific law that a body remains in motion unless it hits another body moving in the opposite direction and that the pain involved in each body will depend on the velocity at which they are running. There is a lot to learn in elementary school.

I remember the day my old fourth grade class turned into the library, a whole room filled with books. I found a real treasure one day snooping through a back bottom shelf. Herge’ The Adventures of Tin Tin. It was a book filled with adventure and humor. The story was told with pictures and words. I loved the pictures. An artist could become lost in the pages.

Tin Tinres and words and I loved the pictures. An artist could become lost in the pages.

I found the books later as an adult while exploring the Salt Lake Library with my boys and brought them home to reread and introduce them to the boys. My boys loved them also. Steven Spielberg in the December 22, 2011 Parade article said, “Well, I felt like a kid when I was making it.”

We went to the movie and I felt like a kid when I was watching it. The movie captured the characters and adventures I had loved to read in that elementary school filled with memories. My husband kept looking over at me because I was chuckling through the entire movie.  Spielberg did a good job of turning a graphic novel into a top notch movie and keeping the flavor of the books.

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Nice Day for an Adventure

  1. AHAnto says:

    I so agree about Tintin (discovered in elementary school) and the movie version – rare to find a movie made from a book that manages to get the flavour right, nevermind the pacing.

    • smeidell says:

      Hey Aino, It’s nice to find someone else who discovered Tintin in elementary school. I was surprised to find a lot of people who had never read or heard of the books.

Leave a Reply

