2012 Annual SCBWI Winter Conference in New York

Ice Fishing at Strawberry Reservoir

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At this time of year, I am usually out in the bitter, biting morning with a friend on a bleak, frozen Strawberry Reservoir ice fishing. The worm salesman tells us, “You keep them meal worms warm by sticken’ ’em in the corner of ‘ur mouth and then thread them on the end of ‘ur hook. Then when you catch that whopper you pull it out of a itty bitty hole and if you’re lucky you can save that meal worm and use it for the next fish.”

The mashed potato bar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This year I was at the 2012 Annual SCBWI Winter Conference at the Grand Hyatt at Grand Central Station in New York City eating a scoop of mashed potato with a bit of caviar on it from the mashed potato bar. It tasted a whole lot better than “them meal worms kept warm” in the corner of my mouth.

Country jogging

 

 

 

 

 

 

Usually at this time of year, I am jogging past snowy pastures and my audience is a horse or two that can’t believe that anyone else is outside on such a winter morning.

Martha Rago's breakout session

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This year I was introducing Martha Rago’s breakout session, the Associate Creative Director for Harper Collins Children’s Books in the Empire State Ballroom. I introduced her, sat down and started taking notes and noticed that my hand was quaking so bad that I would never be able to deciper my notes. This is my first page of notes after I sat down.

Sketch book notes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the opposite page of my sketch book is a quote from Henry Winkler who happened to stop by the conference and talk to us with Lin Oliver. He said, “If you write what you know it will jump off the page.” It looks like my notes almost did.

Solitude

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Most days in January I am in my studio painting away with water color on an illustration that is so humorous to me, that I can’t help smiling at my self. It is very quiet except for the radio in the morning and the Ellen show in the afternoon. There is no one to talk to. I am in complete solitude.

Networking

 

This year I was practicing my networking skills at the Portfolio Showcase and VIP Cocktail Party. I felt more comfortable putting a meal worm on a fish hook. I did venture into the group and found an art director I knew and I found a new artist friend. We even had one of Carol Williams‘ Editors, Alexandra Penfold from Simon and Schuster, come up and say “Hi!” to us.

Picture Books

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All in all, it was a great place to be on a January weekend and I left with some of my favorite things: some great tips on marketing for the illustrator, new friends, and several new, beautifully illustrated picture books.

Are you working Grandma?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I got home, I was sketching and my grandson came up to me and said, “Are you working, Grandma?”

I said, “Yes I’m sketching.”

“Will you get me a piece of paper and a pencil Grandma?”

“Yes. climb on up here.”

It’s good to be home.

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Children's Book Illustration, SCBWI Conference, The Picture Book and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2012 Annual SCBWI Winter Conference in New York

  1. David Meidell says:

    And to think you could have gone ice fishing with Shannon, and turned it down!

  2. Nathan Meidell says:

    Worms or caviar… hmmmm. There may not be a big difference there. 🙂

  3. LOL! I love this. It sounds like you had a fabulous time 🙂

  4. Awesome! I’m glad you had such a great weekend!! Hugs!

  5. Manelle says:

    Sounds like so much fun. Awesome that you got to go. I love the drawings. I also might be a little jealous!. 🙂

  6. Hey Manelle, It was a great conference to attend.

  7. artsyandi says:

    Beautiful summary Sherry! I should have sketched more… though I’m always saying that. Also, my hand would have shook even harder after introducing Martha… great job!

Leave a Reply

