Long Boarding with Bailey

What could be funner than long boarding for the first time. Bailey popped back into town carrying two long boards. One for me and a huge one for him. Bailey wanted me to stand up but I thought that would end up in a concussion and fracture of some kind. When he said ok, you don’t have to stand up, you can sit, I thought I’d give it a try. After all if I started going too fast, I could just lean to the left and zoom off the sidewalk into the grass. I had to stay out of Bailey’s way. His long board was a lot bigger than mine and because of his weight, he could go a lot faster than me. He would whip past me with his helicopter hat just a spinning. Then he would tumble off into the grass and laugh in that deep familiar rumble. Bailey took this picture of me after I hit the grass and tumbled. I wore the leather gloves to protect my drawing hand. Bailey said when he first started, he wore all the fur off of his left hand rubbing it against the sidewalk.

Tumbling

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Bailey, Children's Book Illustration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.