Spring School Visit

Sketching at Creekside

I packed up my books and chalk and paper. I packed my pictures of Bailey and my giclee’ prints and my computer and headed up to Creekside Elementary Arts Night. The principal is Vicki Jessen who has won a state award for backing the arts in her school. My host was the art teacher Carrie West. It was one of the most organized school visits I’ve presented at. I was greeted and given assistance to carry in my supplies for the presentation. A couple of young boys also helped me out to my car. The principal said, “I have many grandchildren.” and they were great helpers. I was introduced by the principal and the audience was very attentive and polite. They had a drawing to see which students would come up and pose for the sketching in front of the presentations. I met many nice parents and students.

Along with my presentation on illustrating books were movies the students had made, photography, chalk art, balloon art, caricatures, pottery, cookie art (a favorite), origami and face painting. A lot of parents attended with there students and had a great time. Thank you Creekside.

Making the Most Out of a School Visit Check list:

1. Contact author or illustrator months ahead to coordinate visit and talk type of presen tation and about fees

2. Prepare students for visit by announcing, and reading the author or illustrators books to familiarize the students with the work and get them excited.

3. Some schools like to coordinate book sales with a book store others want the presen tation with out the books sales

4. Support the presentation with projector support, crowd control, and introductions

5. Follow up by talking to students about what they learned from the presenter.

post sketch

School Visit

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Children's Book Illustration, school visits, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

