The Multipurpose Coarse Kosher Salt

Coarse Kosher Salt

Coarse Kosher Salt

If I need a bit of Kosher Salt for a recipe, I run up to my studio to grab it from my taburet, taberet, taberete (have you ever tried to spell taboret?). The salt makes a nice rub for some meats. Why is it in my art studio? Because it also makes a very nice texture in some watercolors. Today there is freezing rain outside for the first time ever in Utah, planes running off the runway, cars traveling up and over the car ahead of them, so I ran into my studio to get my trusty Coarse Kosher Salt. I sprinkled it on the skating rink that had formed on my front porch and drive way. It’s still slick out there.

My Studio Books

My Studio Books

James Gurney asked to see photos of our book cases that held his books, “Color and Light” and “Imaginative Realism”. Here is my photo. His books are in good company: “Drawing With Your Artist’s Brain” by Carl Purcell, “Howard Pyle”, “Painting With Your Artist’s Brain” by Carl Purcell, “Frank Schoonover”, “A Sketchy Past/The Art of Peter de Seve”, “Creative Illustration” by Andrew Loomis, “Emma Jo’s Song” by Faye Gibbons, “Drawn to Life” by Stanchfield, a couple of how to Adobe CS2 books and my dictionary. How do you look up a word in the dictionary when you can’t spell the word in the first place? So there you go James Gurney. His books are great. They are written by an artist, for an artist. He makes things easy for my artist brain to understand and a freezing rain day is the perfect day to (paroose) them. Try looking that up in the dictionary.

 

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

