Peaceful, Pastoral Settings

Plein-air Painting

Plein-air Painting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last Saturday I headed up to Park City to join the Utah Watercolor Society Paint Out. The location was off the main road, up a private lane to a pastoral setting with a great red barn. The time was evening just as the sun dropped down behind the mountains to the west. The color was great.

blogcow2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Everyone chose their spot. I set up right by a fence where I could look through the wood slats at a beautiful pasture with the cows in the distance and a couple of great trees in the middle of the field. I set up my chair, got out my paints, filled up my water container and started applying paint to paper. You get a different feel when you are plein-airing and that feeling ends up in your painting.

blogcow4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was making great progress, look out at the scene, back at my paper, out at the scene. Do you know that feeling that crawls up your spine, something is slowly creeping up on you? Look at your paper, they are far away.

Cows

Cows

Look up and cows. They crowded around the fence and blocked my entire view. Then they started snorting which is just what you want when you’re painting with a water soluble paint.

blogcow1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After two hours the artists got together and set up our paintings to check them out. I did not finish the painting…..

blogcow6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

but what I did finish has a great feeling of livestock and some nice spots of texture. You should MOOOOOVE on out and give plein-air painting a try. I’ll post the completed painting when I’ve finished scrapeing off the texture.

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Art, watercolor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peaceful, Pastoral Settings

  1. Deena Riley says:

    You simply crack me up. I could see it coming as you started photoing the critters moving closer. And then having them look directly at you….this is a great beginning of a new book-don’t you think? So well put MOOOve Over! Thanks for sharing. I am still wanting to come and paint with you sometime.

Leave a Reply

