Watercolor Retreat

Columbine at Christmas Meadows

Columbine at Christmas Meadows

What’s not to like? A week in the Uintah Mountains painting watercolors with good friends. It was a chance to really concentrate and get some painting done. The painting was interrupted only to eat some fine food and take a walk in the fresh mountain air. There was artistic synergism in the air. Paint was flying from palette to paper.

Epiphany on the Road to Zion (in the works)

Epiphany on the Road to Zion (in the works)

It was time to paint the little woman I met on the road through Zion National Park last November. We drove around a corner and there she was. I knew immediately I wanted to paint her.

"Epiphany on the Road to Zion" 14" x 22" watercolor on paper

“Epiphany on the Road to Zion” 14″ x 22″ watercolor on paper

She was overcome by the beauty and spirit of the place and trying to capture it with her camera. She had lived in New Jersey and had now moved to Israel. Her eyes filled with tears as she talked about the beauty of this place. I felt an immediate connection as her soul felt the same love for the place that I did. How do you capture those majestic sandstone cliffs and the feeling she had as she looked at them. “Epiphany on the Road to Zion” is my attempt.

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Watercolor Retreat

  1. Deena Riley says:

    Man I love your work. I didn’t see the painting of ‘Columbine at Christmas Meadow’. Just read the title in your email first. I could not imagine how you could portray the Columbine incident with Christmas Meadow…that I was confusing with The Mountain Meadow Massacre area. So when I did see your photo of a beautiful flower in a meadow with a bee…I took a big sigh and thought, ‘There Is Beauty All Around’. And ‘Epiphany on the Road to Zion’ is wonderful. It says so much without overdoing what you are trying to convey. Thank you so much for sharing your work. I decided to share my paintings on FB just because I admire you for doing the same. However, there is a big difference between your work and mine. Keep loving life, painting, and sharing!

Leave a Reply

