From Sketch to Finish

First comes the Sketch

First comes the Sketch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First comes the sketch, a moment in time, captured in my sketch book.

Details to add interest

Details to add interest

 

This little girl needed a teddy bear to add a little something to the illustration.

Transferring the sketch to paper

Transferring the sketch to paper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like to get the details the way I want them on tracing paper and then transfer that to the watercolor paper with graphite paper I create with a pencil and tracing paper.

Stapeling paper to board

Stapeling paper to board

 

Even though my paper is 300 lb., I staple it to a board. That helps keep the paper from warping with the water and also keeps it on the board if I want to paint at an angle.

Choosing the colors

Choosing the colors

 

At this point I think about what colors I would like to use. I like to limit my palette to a few colors to help harmonize the colors. I’m going to try a double analogous.

 

Starting to paint

Starting to paint

 

You have to jump right into putting paint on paper. The white blank paper can be intimidating so diving in is the best.

Continuing to Paint

Continuing to Paint

Sometimes I will make a color study. Other times I will think a bit more and let the colors happen. This can be very fun if the painting turns out. Otherwise…..not so fun.

Pencil detail

Pencil detail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like to put some details into the illustration with a pencil. The trick is to keep the line fresh and spontaneous. The line needs to look like you are having fun and sure of yourself.

The finished watercolor illustration

The finished watercolor illustration

 

When you think you have your illustration finished, you can take a look at it in the mirror to see if anything else needs to be added. You can also take the color out to see how your values are.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Art, Children's Book Illustration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Sketch to Finish

  1. Karen says:

    Sherry – Thanks for sharing HOW YOU DO WHAT YOU DO! I love reading your posts. We all need to get together for lunch sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

