Plein Air Painting vs The Bus

Gallery stroll Scottsdale, Arizona

Gallery stroll Scottsdale, Arizona

I recently went down to Scottsdale, Arizona to the Western Federation of Watercolors Societies Show where I received signature status.

 

 

The Utah Watercolor Societies Attendees

The Utah Watercolor Societies Attendees

 

 

This is the fine group of ladies from Utah that made the trip down to Scottsdale for the show.

 

 

 

 

Sherry Meidell's by "Tulips at the Gate"

Sherry Meidell’s by “Tulips at the Gate”

This is the painting that made it into the show.

 

 

 

 

 

Receiving signature status in Western Fed

Receiving signature status in Western Fed

To get signature status, you need to be juried into four Western Fed Shows.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grace from my sketch book

Grace from my sketch book

 

One of the highlights of the trip was meeting Grace Haverty. She did a workshop on sketching for anyone  that wanted to attend. We traveled from the hotel to downtown Scottsdale. Grace always carries a sketch book bag in her car so she’s ready to sketch at a moments notice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Downtown Scottsdale

Downtown Scottsdale

I set up my paints and paper and started sketching a street in Scottsdale and was about half way through my painting when the scene changed.

 

 

 

 

The Bus blocked the entire view.

The Bus blocked the entire view.

You expect the light to change with clouds or wind but this time a big bus pulled up right in front of me and parked. A group of young interns slowly got off the bus. One intern said sorry as they spread out into the streets. I was worried that the bus had found a good parking spot for ever but luckily he pulled off and I could finish.

 

 

My sketch of a street in Scottsdale.

My sketch of a street in Scottsdale.

After the workshop we ate lunch with Grace and she invited the Utah group to her studio to take a look at her paintings. I guess our group was crazy enough to stick around til the afternoon when it turned into a downpour, another hazard of plein air painting.

www.gracehavertyart.com

 

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized, Utah Watercolor Society, watercolor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plein Air Painting vs The Bus

  1. jamesfarmstrong says:

    Hi, Sherry, I enjoy your posts. You appear to have fun with friends and with your family – that mural is very, very nice.

    I have a couple of things I’d like to tell you about:

    1. I don’t know if I’ve told you of my page: http://www.scbwi.org/members-public/james-armstrong but there it is.

    2. After months and months of gathering old images and preparing them along with the newer ones, I finally have my website up: http://jamesarmstrongillustration.com/

    3. and then, today, I got an “Ultra-Book” posted in Europe: http://jarmstrong.ultra-book.com/ It’s not completely finished by a long-shot, but at least I beat the geek-speak in French into submission using two dictionaries.

    Hope all is well, James

Leave a Reply

