Young Heber Valley Artists

Talking about line, shape and angle. Photo by Ivana Radu

Talking about line, shape and angle.
Photo by Ivana Radu

 

I had the great pleasure of presenting and visiting with some young artists at the Wasatch County Library in Heber last Thursday Evening. I was greeted by Sally Baird who made me feel welcome and got everything set up with the help of three rambunctious girls. The pictures were taken by another mother, Ivana Radu who said I was welcome to use them on my blog.

Discussing book dummys photo by Ivana Radu

Discussing book dummys
photo by Ivana Radu

 

 

 

We talked about the importance of getting in the sketch book habit. We discussed making books and talked about illustrating stories and what to think about when we hear the words and how do we get the pictures we see in our mind down on the paper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From story board to book dummy to finished book.

From story board to book dummy to finished book. photo by Ivana Radu

 

I dropped some dye in water for some marbling and when I pulled the paper out, there was an appreciative gasp. I loved to see the art the kids produced and answer their questions.

Dropping the dye into the water photo by Ivana Radu

Dropping the dye into the water
photo by Ivana Radu

The dyes are dramatically brighter on the paper. photo by Ivana Radu

The dyes are dramatically brighter on the paper.
photo by Ivana Radu

 

We put all the art together at the end to let everyone see what the others had made. One student came up to me after the class and quietly asked, “Whose art did you think was the best?” I told him, “Everyone is at different levels with their art and everyone has their own style. You can’t really choose if one is better than another.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Here is the Marbling die from Bolu-Undo photo by Ivana Radu

Here is the Marbling dye from Bolu-Undo
photo by Ivana Radu

Picking a postcard

Picking a postcard- photo by Ivana Radu

 

 

 

I paused and he looked up at me and then I said, “But I can say that your art was very nicely done.” He got a big grin on his face and said he was going to be an artist when he grows up. We had a lot of talented kids in the class. It was a great evening.

About Sherry Meidell

Sherry Meidell is a signature member of the National Watercolor Society Western Federation Watercolor Society and the Utah Watercolor Society. She loves to paint with watercolor whether she is painting pictures or illustrating children's picture books. She is a member of SCBWI. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.
This entry was posted in Children's Book Illustration, sketch book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Young Heber Valley Artists

  1. Sherry, this looks like such fun! I am sure it was very valuable to the students, and well as entertaining.

    • Hey Susan, It was a lot of fun. I like to see groups that help introduce young artists to illustrators and their art. It can be such an inspiration. I can remember having someone from a publishing house come to our class in the 5th grade. We drew pictures of Dr. Suess characters and I can remember that they liked the art I drew.

Leave a Reply

